Education from mom’s POV

Welcome to my blog where we are going to explore some questions that I have dealt with as a parent new to the public education system in New Mexico.  I would imagine many of these topics can apply to any of the 50 states although as most of you know every state is different – different standards, different curriculum, different rules, different lunches, different criteria for their teachers.  This is not only different from state to state but from county to county, township to township, and in some cases city to neighboring city!  As a parent “new” to the public education scene I had nothing but my own memories of public education to go by as to what I should expect for my daughter when she entered the wonderful world of education.  Little did I know things had changed drastically since I was in school (we won’t mention how long ago that was!).  I was next to illiterate as well as ignorant on the daily workings of an elementary school classroom and in all reality what it was my child would be learning once she got there.  Frankly the whole system throws me for a loop – thus this blog.  We will explore together the ins and outs of public education and what we can do as parents to help our children be successful in their educational endeavors.

Leave a Reply

